Hammond, Louisiana – The season may be over for the tennis teams at Louisiana but the awards rolled in on Sunday.

Angela Dangond and Javier Pulgar both on LSWA All-Louisiana Tennis TeamsBoth the men’s and women’s team had at least one player named to the LSWA tennis team, the list was highlighted by Javier Pulgar who was named to the first team and freshman of the year. The men had more first team selections than any other Louisiana school and tied for the most with three on the first and second teams.

The 2009 tennis season was one to remember on the men’s side with the team racking up 16 wins which was tied for the most since 1994. The Cajuns had three men named to the LSWA team. Piotr Banas and Javier Pulgar were named to the first team while Arlen Domoney was named to the second team. These three Cajuns lead the team all year racking up a combined singles record of 50-14.

Angela Dangond was named to the LSWA second team for her efforts during the season. She was the heart and soul of the team this year and sparked a second half revival.

2009 LSWA All-Louisiana Men’s Tennis Teams

First Team
Michael Venus – LSU – Sr. – Orlando, Fla.
Terry Richardson – Xavier – Senior – Ellenwood, Ga.
Piotr Banas – Louisiana – Junior – Warsaw, Poland
Javier Pulgar – Louisiana– Freshman – Madrid, Spain
Calvin Kemp – UNO – Freshman – Atlanta, Ga.
Guillaume Capovin – Southeastern Louisiana – Senior – France

Second Team
Neil Skupski – LSU – Freshman – Liverpool, England
Arlen Domoney – Louisiana– Senior – Capetown, South Africa
Ben Smith – UNO – Sophomore – Ipswich, England
Benjamin Enke – Southeastern Louisiana – Junior – Germany
Sebastian Carlsson – LSU – Sophomore – Uppsala, Sweden
Damien Cordoba – Southeastern Louisiana – Freshman – France

Honorable Mention: Jan Bezdecka, Southeastern Louisiana; Julien Roussel, Southeastern Louisiana; Mikhail Vaval, Xavier

Player of the Year: Michael Venus, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Guillaume Capovin, Southeastern Louisiana
Freshman of the Year: Javier Pulgar, Louisiana
Coach of the Year: Alan Green, Xavier

2009 LSWA All-Louisiana Women’s Tennis Teams

First Team
Megan Falcon – LSU – Senior – Alameda, Calif.
Iva Velkovska – Southeastern Louisiana – Senior – Skopje, Macedonia
Claire Clark – Louisiana-Monroe – Sophomore – Bossier City, La.
Anastesia Opata – Xavier – Junior – Lawrenceville, Ga.
Mariam Kurdaze – Tulane – Freshman – Tsilisi, Republic of Georgia
Marion Lehmann – Louisiana-Monroe – Senior – Besancon, France

Second Team
Angelina Callis – Xavier – Junior – Los Angeles, Calif.
Bianca Schulz – Northwestern State – Sophomore – Wiesenstiasse, Germany
Mykala Hedberg – LSU – Senior – Oxnard, Calif.
Nicole Kantor – LSU – Junior – St. Louis, Mo.
Audrey Chelini – Southeastern Louisiana – Freshman – France
Angela Dagond – Louisiana– Senior – Bucaramanga, Columbia

Honorable Mention: Staten Spencer, LSU; Kozue Matsumoto, UNO; Kathrin Lange, Northwestern State

Player of the Year: Megan Falcon, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Kozue Matsumoto, UNO
Freshman of the Year: Mariam Kurdaze, Tulane
Coach of the Year: Alan Green, Xavier