Houston TX - The Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns Golf Team turned in their best round of the Sun Belt Conference Championship on the final day as they carded a team score of five-under par 283 to jump from eighth to fourth place at the Cypress Wood Golf Club in Houston, Texas. In Conference Honors, Phillipp Fendt was named Freshman of the Year, and Kyle Pritchard and Dustin Petit were named to the All-Sun Belt Team.

Kyle Pritchard, Dustin Pettit, Phillip Fendt, Ragin' Cajuns Golf, Univeristy of LouisianaLouisiana began the day in eighth place but turned in a tournament-low round of 283 (-5) as a team to jump up into fourth place.

The Cajuns were led by Kyle Pritchard and Dustin Petit. The duo finished the tournament at two-over par to finish in a tie for sixth place, earning them each All-Sun Belt Conference accolades.

Pritchard improved each round. After opening the tournament with a 79, the junior shot a second round score of even par (72). In his final round, Pritchard shot a team-best round of 67 to move to two-over par for the tournament.

Petit was a model of consistency throughout the tournament. The senior posted back-to-back rounds of two-over par 74 to enter the final round in 18th. Petit carded a two-under par round of 70 to move into a tie for sixth place and earn All-Conference praise.

True freshman Philipp Fendt, who was dubbed the SBC Freshman of the Year, concluded the tournament with a two-under par round of 70 to finish four-over par overall and tie for 17th place.

Rounding out the scoring for the Cajuns was Thomas Petts and Devin Carrey. Petts and Carrey shot a 76 and 77, respectively.

Middle Tennessee won their first Sun Belt Conference Championship since joining the Sun Belt. The Blue Raiders had to overcome a slow start from the first round, but were able to close the gap on day two and took the lead for good on the back nine of the final round. Chas Narramore and Rick Cochran shot 69 (-3) and 68 (-4) respectively for the championship day and combined for three eagles on the day.

For the Denver women it marked the sixth consecutive year that the Pioneers have walked away champions. DU took the championship in wire-to-wire fashion and saved their best round of the tournament for championship day, posting a six-under 282 to finish the tournament at five-under par and win by 14 strokes.

Women’s runner-up UALR also went low in the championship round as the Trojans a tournament best eight-under par 280 on the day to finish at nine-over par for the championship. Mallory Fraiche finished as top women’s scorer for the championship as she earned medalist honors with a three-under par tournament. Teammate Sara Wikstrom placed second with a two-under par three round total.

Denver’s Espen Kofstad earned medalist honors with a remarkable eight under par score and a 68 (-4) in the final round. Kofstad finished five strokes ahead of the closest competitor.

Denver and Middle Tennessee both advance to the NCAA Regional Championships. Both teams had great success last year in regional play as the Pioneers and the Blue Raiders advanced to the NCAA National Championships a year ago.

Men’s All-Conference Team
Lloyd du Perez (Arkansas State)
Tyler Thompson (Arkansas State)
Espen Kofstad (Denver)
Daniel Wax (Denver)
Chas Narramore (Middle Tennessee)
Jason Millard (Middle Tennessee)
Nathan Sheen (North Texas)
Clarke Kincaid (North Texas)
Kyle Pritchard (Louisiana)
Dustin Petit (Louisiana)

Marc-Ettienne Bussieres (South Alabama)
Jack Hiluta (South Alabama)

Men’s Medalist: Espen Kofstad (Denver)
Men’s Freshman of the Year: Philipp Fendt (Louisiana)
Men’s Co-Coaches of the Year: Eric Hoos (Denver), Whit Turnbow (Middle Tennessee), Chris McCarter (New Orleans)

Women’s All-Conference Team
Cassie Huffer (Arkansas State)
Mallory Fraiche (UALR)
Sara Wikstrom (UALR)
Dawn Shockley (Denver)
Sarah Faller (Denver)
Stephanie Sherlock (Denver)
Ellie Givens (Denver)
Katie Kempter (Denver)
Praewnapa Phol-Uryporn (Florida Atlantic)
Belen Buendia (FIU)
Paula Hurtado (FIU)
Sara Laisson (ULM)

Women’s Medalist: Mallory Fraiche (UALR)
Women’s Freshman of the Year: Belen Buendia (FIU)
Women’s Coach of the Year: Sammie Chergo (Denver)

Mens' Final Results
Team Rd.1 Rd. 2 Rd. 3 Total To Par
1. Middle Tennessee 295 287 284 866 +2
2. Denver 291 291 290 872 +8
3. North Texas 297 288 288 873 +9
4. Louisiana 298 293 283 874 +10
5. South Alabama 283 301 291 875 +11
6. UALR 290 295 291 876 +12
7. Arkansas State 290 298 299 887 +23
8. New Orleans 294 291 306 891 +27
9. ULM 306 298 293 897 +33
10. Troy 298 303 300 901 +37
11. Western Kentucky 300 312 293 905 +41
12. Florida Atlantic 305 310 305 920 +56

Ragin’ Cajuns Results
Player Rd. 1 Rd. 2 Rd. 3 Total To Par
T-6. Kyle Pritchard 79 72 67 218 +2
T-6. Dustin Petit 74 74 70 218 +2
T-17. Philipp Fendt 74 76 70 220 +4
T-28. Thomas Petts 76 72 76 224 +8
T-37. Devin Carrey 74 75 77 226 +10