NEW ORLEANS - Louisiana midfielder Jordan Blevins joins 18 other Sun Belt student-athletes named among the more than 400 Division I Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes as inaugural recipients of the 1A FAR Academic Excellence Award.  The award was established by the 1A Faculty Athletics Representatives to recognize student-athlete academic achievement.

Blevins is a senior majoring in kinesiology.  The Grapevine TX native has made the Sun Belt Conference Commissioner's List three times, in 2007, 2008, and 2009.

Recipients must have graduated in the past academic year with at least a 3.80 cumulative grade-point average and have participated in at least two years of intercollegiate athletics at an FBS institution in a sport sponsored by an FBS conference. Football student-athletes at FBS institutions that are independent in football were also eligible for the award.

The award was given to 432 student-athletes: 136 men and 296 women. Twenty-eight percent of the recipients majored in mathematics, science or engineering; 22 percent in business-related field

Other Sun Belt Awardees:

Arkansas State University
Tina Ojdanic

Florida Atlantic University
Emily Seymore
Elisabetta Bertini
Hannah Findlay
Nicole Gerig
Karine Bolme
Laura Hyvonen

North Texas
Amanda Hall
Patrick Strong
Mary Beth Geeze
Kelly Gordon
Laura Littleton
Kristen Tuttle

Kortney Cooper
Victoria Rogoschewsky
April Madden
Daniel Peterson
Alyce Shearing

This is a submitted article.  Send your press releases and articles on UL, the UL District, and quality of life in Acadiana-- particularly education & culture-- to by clicking here.

Follow Cajuns Sports: 
Athletic Network