INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Committee has selected the teams and individuals to participate in the 2011 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships.  Louisiana placed juniors Philipp Fendt and Andrew Noto in the Ocala Regional, hosted by the University of Florida.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 19-21. Thirteen teams and ten individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.

The finals will be conducted May 31-June 5, at Karsten Creek in Stillwater, Okla. Oklahoma State is the host institution for this year’s championships.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the Florida regional. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.  To view all NCAA regionals, click here.

FLORIDA REGION: Golden Ocala Golf Club, Ocala, Fla.; Hosted by Florida
Teams Individuals
1. Florida (Southeastern Conference) 1. Philipp Fendt, Louisiana
2. Augusta State 2. Jack Hiluta, South Alabama
3. Arkansas 3. Jacobo Pastor, Charleston Southern
4. Oregon 4. Andrew Noto, Louisiana
5. N.C. State 5. Bradley Story, Alabama A&M
6. UCF (Conference USA)  
7. Baylor  
8. Kennesaw State (Atlantic Sun Conference)  
9. Notre Dame (Big East Conference)  
10. Missouri  
11. Southeastern Louisiana  
12. Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley Conference)  
13. Georgia Southern (Southern Conference)  
14. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)  


This is a submitted article.  Send your press releases and articles on UL, the UL District, and quality of life in Acadiana-- particularly education & culture-- to by clicking here.

Follow Cajuns Sports:
Athletic Network