Former University of Louisiana SID Dan McDonald has been selected to the 2011 induction class of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Hall of Fame. The CoSIDA Hall of Fame honor is presented to members of CoSIDA who have made outstanding contributions to the field of college sports information.

McDonald will be honored on June 28 at a Hall of Fame gala dinner and ceremony when the College Sports Information Directors of America holds its annual convention at the Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort in Marco Island, Fla.

McDonald's inclusion places him among the top athletics communications personnel in the country. The organization will also recognize emerging leaders, community service and lifetime achievement awards will be presented.

McDonald served as SID for 19 years at UL.  He is a native of Jonesboro, La., and before wirting for the Cajuns, worked for just over a year on the sports staff of the Alexandria Daily Town Talk before beginning his SID career at his alma mater, Northwestern State , after graduating with honors from the school in 1975. He served as sports editor of NSU’s school paper for one year and editor-in-chief for one year, and helped found NSU’s radio station KNSU-AM (now KNWD-FM).

McDonald has won numerous honors, served two years on CoSIDA’s Board of Directors, and has trained and produced over 20 other members of the SID profession. He also served on the media relations staff for the Olympic Games in Seoul and Atlanta, as well as six U.S. Olympic Festivals.

McDonald wrote for 9 years with the Lafayette Daily Advertiser, covering UL and the Sun Belt. While there he won 31 writing awards from the LSWA and earned a national 'Best of Gannett' award for his coverage of the 2005 Little League World Series. He now serves as vice president of McD Media, Inc.  He is a regular contributor to

Former Louisiana CoSIDA HOF member include LSU publicists “Ace” Higgins and Paul Manasseh, McNeese State’s Louis Bonnette, Tulane’s Horace Renegar and Southern’s Bennie Thomas.

McDonald is one of five current and former sports communications professionals to be inducted. The other members of the 2011 Hall of Fame Class are:

  • Mark Beckenbach, Ohio Wesleyan
  • Charles Bloom, Southeastern Conference
  • Rich Herman, Clarion
  • Paul Madison, Western Washington

McDonald was selected by the Hall of Fame Veterans Selection Committee. The other five were selected by a vote of more than 90 CoSIDA Hall of Famers.

This is a submitted article.  Send your press releases and articles on UL, the UL District, and quality of life in Acadiana-- particularly education & culture-- to by clicking here.

Follow Cajuns Sports: 
Athletic Network