Three University of Louisiana volleyball players were named to the 2010 All-Louisiana Team, as announced by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association on Wednesday.  Libero Lindsay Brown and outside hitter Lesley Mirarchi both earned second team All-Louisiana honors, while setter Mandi Gavin garnered honorable mention accolades.

Brown earned the second All-Louisiana selection of her career with her previous second-team selection in 2008. Mirarchi and Gavin both earned an All-Louisiana honor for the first time in their respective careers.

"This is a great honor for these three young ladies," said UL head coach Heather Mazeitis. "They helped turn this program in the right direction and were very important to our success this season."

Brown, a native of Yorba Linda Calif., became only the second player in UL history to reach 500-plus digs in consecutive seasons. She also became UL's rally era leader in career digs with 1,863.

Brown was named the National Player of the Week for Sept. 20. She also earned consecutive SBC Defensive Player of the Week honors for Sept. 20 and Sept. 27. Brown led the league with 605 total digs, recording the most digs in a season in UL history.

Mirarchi, an All-Sun Belt selection, played a pivotal role in Louisiana's offensive success this season. She led the Cajuns with 364 total kills in 122 sets played. Her average of 2.98 kills per set ranked seventh in the Sun Belt. Mirarchi posted 16 matches of double-digit kills. In addition to her offensive firepower, Mirarchi lead UL with 106 total blocks for a mark of 0.87 blocks per set.

Gavin, a sophomore from Arlington, Texas, posted 1,164 assists in 122 sets played this season. Her average of 9.54 assists per set ranked fourth in the Sun Belt. Gavin ranked second in the Sun Belt with 43 service aces for an average of 0.36 aces per set. She totaled 121 kills for 0.99 kills per set. She earned 11 double-doubles this season, while scooping 269 digs and recording 86 total blocks.

Eight different schools were represented on the all-Louisiana teams. LSU led the way with four representatives, all of which earned first team accolades. Louisiana, Louisiana Tech and Tulane boasted two honorees while Loyola, McNeese State, New Orleans and Northwestern State each had one selection.

The Louisiana Sports Writers Association (LSWA) 2010 volleyball postseason award winners are selected by the sports information directors from across the state.

2010 LSWA Volleyball Postseason Award Winners


First Team                      Team                               Pos.       Yr.       Hometown
Angela Bensend               LSU                                 OH          Sr.       Plano TX
Desiree Elliott                  LSU                                  MB         Fr.       Cypress TX
Gina Gill                          Loyola                              OH          Jr.        Baton Rouge
Izabela Grot                    Tulane                               OH          Rs.-So. Krakow, Poland
Lori Hunsucker                Louisiana Tech                   L            Sr.        Katy TX (Blinn JC)
Brittney Johnson             LSU                                   S            Sr.        Baton Rouge
LaMichele Williams          LSU                                  MB         Jr.         Magnolia TX

Second Team                     Team                           Pos.       Yr.          Hometown
Becky Bekelja                 McNeese State                   S           So.         League City TX
Lindsay Brown              Louisiana                           L           Sr.         Yorba Linda CA
Edina Dobi                      New Orleans                       OH        Sr.          Eger, Hungary
Kara Jones                     Louisiana Tech                     MB        Sr.         Moody TX
Cori Martone                   Tulane                                 OH        Fr.          Baton Rouge
Lesley Mirarchi              Louisiana                           MB        Jr.          Plano TX
Laranda Spann                Northwestern State               MB        Sr.         Baton Rouge

Honorable Mention: Bianca Bin (Louisiana Tech), Mahogany Dilonga (ULM), Mandi Gavin (Louisiana), Allison Jones (Southeastern Louisiana), Mandi Jones (LSU), Milica Jovic (Tulane), Katie Kennedy (McNeese State), Kassia Pinto (Louisiana Tech), Sabrina Stansberry (Loyola), Samantha Worsham (Loyola).

Player of the Year:                      Angela Bensend, Sr., OH, LSU
Freshman of the Year:                 Desiree Elliott, Fr., MB, LSU
Newcomer of the Year:                Izabela Grot, Rs.-So., OH, Tulane
Libero of the Year:                      Lori Hunsucker, Sr., L, Louisiana Tech
Coach of the Year:                      Fran Flory, LSU

This is a submitted article.  Send your press releases and articles on UL, the UL District, and quality of life in Acadiana-- particularly education & culture-- to by clicking here.