The Center for Louisiana Studies at the University of Louisiana recently announced that it will present the 2010 James William Rivers Prize for Louisiana Studies to the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities for its "longtime contributions to a vast array of fields related to Louisiana studies through its programming initiatives and financial support."


The committee further cited the following programs administered by the LEH as factors in its decision:
▪ Grant Programs
▪ Louisiana Publishing Initiative Grants
▪ Teacher Institutes for Advance Study Grants
▪ Documentary Film and Radio Grants
▪ Public Humanities Grants
▪ Outreach and Planning Grants
▪ RELIC (Readings in Literature and Culture) Program
▪ Teaching American History Institutes
▪ Louisiana Cultural Vistas Magazine
▪ "KnowLA" Online Encyclopedia
▪ Annual Louisiana Humanities Awards

A brief award ceremony followed by a reception honoring the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities will be held at 4 p.m. Dec. 14 at the Alumni Center, 600 East Saint Mary Blvd., on the UL campus.

The James William Rivers Prize in Louisiana Studies was established to honor persons who have contributed or rendered, recently or over the course of their careers, outstanding scholarly study, work, or teaching about the culture, history, art, architecture, crafts, flora, fauna, music, literature, law, performing arts, or geography of Louisiana or about its people. The Rivers Prize was established with private funds donated in memory of Mr. Rivers, a New Orleans architect and graduate of the University of Louisiana, who died in 1991.

Past recipients of the James Williams Rivers Prize
2009 - Alumnus & UL Professor Carl A. Brasseaux
2008 - Jay D. Edwards & the Fred B. Kniffen Cultural Resources Laboratory
2007 - Alumnus James Lee Burke
2006 - Frank de Caro
2005 - Ellis Marsalis
2004 - Louisiana Public Broadcasting
2003 - Alumnus & UL Professor Glenn R. Conrad
2002 - Alumna & UL Professor Mathé Allain
2001 - Elemore Morgan, Sr.& UL's Elemore Morgan, Jr.
2000 - Glen Jeansonne
1999 - Samuel Wilson, Jr.
1998 - UL's Ernest J. Gaines
1997 - Mary Louise Christovich
1996 - Alumnus and UL Professor Barry J. Ancelet
1995 - Joy J. Jackson
1994 - Saul Litvinoff
1993 - Marcel Giraud
1992 - UL Alumnus A. Hays Town

This is a submitted article.  Send your press releases and articles on UL, the UL District, and quality of life in Acadiana-- particularly education & culture-- to by clicking here.