NATCHITOCHES - UL alumnus Gerald Boudreaux received the Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award at the 2010 induction ceremony for the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame. The award ceremony will be highlighted in a one-hour special beginning at 6 p.m. Wednesday evening on CST.

This marks the eighth consecutive year that the presenting Louisiana Sports Writers Association has teamed with the regional sports network to broadcast the event which this year was held on June 26 at the Natchitoches Events Center. La Capitol Federal Credit Union is the presenting sponsor of the telecast with sponsorship provided by the Louisiana agents of State Farm Insurance and the Natchitoches Historic District Development Commission.

CST's Lyn Rollins returns for his eighth year as lead host, joining with well-known Louisiana television personality Tammi Arender, who returns for her third trip to Natchitoches. Joining them for interviews and commentary representing the LSWA is past president and current treasurer Kent Lowe. Lowe also serves as producer of the annual telecasts.

"The show provides tremendous exposure for the Hall of Fame around our state and far beyond each summer, and for that we are extremely grateful to CST, our sponsors and the people who do such a great job putting it together," said Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Executive Director Doug Ireland. "Watching the show, you get a wonderful look at an event that draws a sellout crowd to celebrate excellence in Louisiana. It's certainly a show that everybody will enjoy."

The 2010 induction class featured three coaches - high school standouts Lee Hedges and J. T. Curtis, and long-time ULM basketball coach Mike Vining; basketball players Larry Wilson of Nicholls State, Notre Dame and NBA star Orlando Woolridge of Mansfield and Louisiana Tech All-American and WNBA star Teresa Weatherspoon, who has returned to Ruston as the head coach at her alma mater.

Football was represented by Nicholls State and NFL wide receiver Mark Carrier and former LSU All-American pitcher and the No. 1 pick in the 1989 Major League Baseball draft, Ben McDonald, rounded out the nominees. McDonald is also a member of the CST family as analyst with Rollins on LSU baseball games.

Highlighting the telecast will be special information on the long-awaited Hall of Fame building on Front Street as Mayor Wayne McCullen and Louisiana Museum System Director Sam Rykels will detail the construction plan for the building that was beginning during Hall of Fame weekend.

The show will also make a visit to Oak Wing Golf Club in Alexandria to check out the swings of Hall of Famers during the annual golf tournament.

Also highlighted in the one-hour show will be the presentation of the Distinguished Service Awards in Sports Journalism that were presented to Norm Fletcher, the longtime voice of the Hall of Fame and voice of the Demons, and Ted Lewis, veteran writer for the New Orleans Times Picayune. Ironically, on the night Fletcher received his award, he was suffering from a bad cold and Rollins had to pull double duty and serve as narrator for the Hall of Fame videos.

University of Louisiana alumnus Gerald Boudreaux, known in his home of Lafayette as director of parks and recreation and known throughout the southeast for his work as a college basketball official, received the Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award.

"It was very obvious to all the members of the LSWA what a special group of inductees we had this year from the moment many of us visited with them at the opening press conference," said Lowe. "I hope we are able to convey some of their love for their state and their families in our telecast. We have tried very hard again this year to bring together as many elements of the event as we can in the hour show. We are grateful to CST for all their help in the production of this event and are glad to have them on board with us as we now see our Hall of Fame building on the horizon."

After Wednesday night's opening telecast, the show will be repeated on the following dates (all times are CDT): Friday, 3 p.m.; Saturday, 9 p.m.; Sunday, 10 a.m.; Saturday, July 17, 11 a.m.; Monday, July 19, 4 p.m.; Wednesday, July 21, 5:30 p.m.; Sunday, July 25, Noon; and, Saturday, July 31, 11 a.m.

The Executive Producer of CST is Jeff Brenner. For more information go to the CST website.

The President and CEO of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Foundation is Lisa Babin. The Executive Director is Doug Ireland. For the history of the Hall and biographies of his year's induction class, visit the new Hall of Fame website.

This is a submitted article.  Send your press releases and articles on UL, the UL District, and quality of life in Acadiana-- particularly education & culture-- to by clicking here.

Follow Cajuns Sports: 
Athletic Network