Alex Fuselier had a series-high eight base hits and series-high seven RBI at New Orleans last weekend and for those efforts was named Sun Belt Conference Player of the Week, the league office announced on Monday.

Alex Fuselier, Ragin' Cajuns Baseball, University of LouisianaFuselier had an impressive weekend at the plate as he served as the offensive catalyst for the Ragin' Cajuns who swept New Orleans over the weekend to move into a tie for second-place overall in the SBC standings.

The sweep was the Cajuns' fourth consecutive in SBC play and extended the team's league winning streak to 12 games.

Fuselier posted a team-high eight base hits finishing 8-for-13 (.615) in the weekend sweep. The Cajuns designated hitter drove home a series-high seven runs and posted a .846 slugging percentage and .643 on-base percentage and struck out only once in 14 plate appearances.

In Sunday's series finale, Fuselier drove home the game-winning run in the top of the ninth when he laced a single through the right side of the infield off UNO reliever Mats Mattson.

In the series opener on Friday, Fuselier was a perfect 4-for-4 with three doubles and five RBI. It was the third time this season Fuselier posted five RBI in a game.

This is the first weekly honor in Fuselier's career and third for the Ragin' Cajuns this season (Zach Osborne was named Pitcher of the Week March 22 and April 12). Fuselier is the first Cajuns hitter named SBC Player of the Week since Greg Fontenot on April 6, 2009.

Fuselier and his teammates travel to Baton Rouge on Tuesday for a midweek meeting with Southern University that will be televised live on CST beginning at 6 p.m. Then it's back home to "The Tigue" for a Sun Belt showdown with Western Kentucky Friday-Sunday, May 14-16.

2010: Alex Fuselier (5/10)
2009: Les Smith (3/23); Greg Fontenot (4/6)
2007: Kolin Hatfield (4/2); Jefferies Tatford (4/9); Jonathan Lucroy (5/7)
2006: Josh Landry (5/22)
2005: Dallas Morris (3/7); Justin Morgan (3/28); Jonathan Lucroy (4/18)
2004: Phillip Hawke (3/22); Dallas Morris (4/12)
2003: Corey Coles (4/28)
2002: Bryan Sneed (4/1); Chase Lambin (5/13)
2000: Rick Haydel (3/20); Will Hawkins (4/3)
1999: George O'Dwyer (3/29); Ryan Gill (4/19); Ian Calais (5/17)
1998: Rick Haydel (4/20)
1997: Kevin Cantrelle (3/31); Justin Hemme (4/14)
1995: Tony Spaulding (3/20)
1994: Brooke Inzerella (3/28); Travis Krause (4/25)
1992: Papo Ramos (4/13)
   *joined league in 1992

This is a submitted article.  Send your press releases and articles on UL, the UL District, and quality of life in Acadiana-- particularly education & culture-- to by clicking here.